!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd"> Streamline Training & Documentation: Tanglewood - Beethoven, Liszt, Ravel

Sunday, August 16, 2009

Tanglewood - Beethoven, Liszt, Ravel

Yesterday evening friends and I went to Tanglewood for one of the last concerts of the season.

The Music Shed and Lawn at Tanglewood
(lavij, for the Boston Symphony Orchestra)

The program, with André Previn conducting, included:

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827)
Symphony No. 4 in B-flat, Opus 60
(first performed in 1807)

Franz Liszt (1811 - 1886)
Piano Concerto No. 2 in A
(first performed in 1857)
Yesterday's soloist: Jean-Yves Thibaudet

Maurice Ravel (1875 - 1937)
"La Valse," Choreographic poem
(first performed in 1920)